Kostenlos abonnieren

Werden Sie regelmäßig per E-Mail über neue Ausgaben der campuls informiert. Sie können Ihr kostenloses Abo jederzeit einfach online über den Abmeldelink im Newsletter kündigen.

Weitere Infos zu Datenschutz & Widerrufsrecht finden Sie hier.

Bavarian Culture Award goes for the first time to Indian graduate of Hof University

Apurv Raju Puranik, a graduate of Hof University of Applied Sciences, was once again awarded the Bavarian Culture Prize of Bayernwerk AG in the field of science. With him, the award goes for the first time to a former representative of the large Indian community among the Hof students. A total of 39 prizes were awarded in the fields of art and science. The Bavarian Culture Prize is awarded by Bayernwerk in partnership with the Bavarian State Ministry of Science and Culture.

Apurv Raju Puranik (center) received the Bavarian Culture Award for his remarkable work from the hands of Science Minister Markus Blume (left) and Bayernwerk CEO Dr. Egon Leo Westphal. In addition to the bronze statue, the award also includes prize money of 2,000 euros. Photo: Alex Schelbert ;

A user-optimized dashboard for production

Apurv Raju Puranik was honored for his master’s thesis in the Operational Excellence program. In modern production departments, many steps run simultaneously and are automated. Therefore, it is very important to have an overview at a central point. To achieve this, a lot of data is transferred to a production server in real time. This includes machine data, operating data, performance analysis, detailed planning and much more. In order for the employees in the company to be able to quickly grasp the many data, it is central that the dashboard, i.e. the display, shows the correct information. In his master’s thesis, Apurv Raju Puranik developed a method to create a dashboard based on the user requirements in a company. For this, he has scientifically studied how the dashboard optimally fits the requirements of the employees in four sequential steps. He succeeded in developing a user-optimized dashboard that can be transferred to different production departments (You can read an interview with the award winner in the “campuls-digital” shortly).

Apurv Raju Puranik, who traveled from India especially for the award ceremony, was accompanied by Prof. Dr. Dietmar Wolff, Vice President Teaching at Hof University of Applied Sciences, at the presentation of the Bavarian Cultural Award. Prof. Wolff also supervised the master’s thesis; Photo: Hof University of Applied Sciences

Laureates from art and science

On the same evening, the award in the arts category went to countertenor Valer Sabadus, the band Sportfreunde Stiller, photographer Olaf Unverzart, artist and lyricist Augusta Laar and actress Lucy Wilke. A special prize went to the internationally successful soprano Golda Schultz

The range of scientific theses honored was particularly broad this year, spanning biochemistry, economics, music education and philosophy. Whereas in the science category the respective Bavarian university decides on the prize winners, in the arts category an expert jury headed by the Bavarian State Ministry of Science and the Arts selects the five personalities who are awarded the Bavarian Culture Prize for their contribution to the Bavarian cultural landscape.

Bavarian Minister of Arts and Science Markus Blume emphasized

Art and culture are part of the brand essence of Bavaria: with their creativity and originality, our artists make the Free State more diverse, more livable and richer. The award winners are ambassadors of our lively Bavarian art scene – their work is an enrichment!”

Markus Blume, Bavarian State Minister for Science and the Arts

Bavarian Culture Award since 2005

As last year, the award ceremony took place in front of a live audience and was broadcast on television and via live stream. In addition to the award ceremony, live performances by various artists provided a well-rounded entertainment program and made the event a special evening. Bayernwerk has been awarding the Culture Prize since 2005, traditionally honoring significant artistic work as well as graduates and doctoral students of Bavarian universities, universities of applied sciences and state art colleges. The prize includes prize money and the bronze statue “Gedankenblitz”. The art category and the special prize are each endowed with 5,000 euros, the science category with 2,000 euros each. The Gedankenblitz was designed by the Schwandorf sculptor Peter Mayer

Impressions of the award ceremony (slidershow)

Rainer Krauß

Weitere Themen